PDA

View Full Version : Sick Of My Job And Wanting To Give A 2 Day Notic

kopper
05-04-2004, 12:29 AM
Here's my dilemma, my job is stressing the sh!t outta me. I work as a customer service analyst and come home everyday in a cranky mood, my chest feels tight, my brain is fried, and just plain ol b!tchy. Catch my drift? Working has literally taken the joy outta life. We're understaffed, I'm underpaid (take home pay under $2K a month) and want to leave, but at the same time I need the money just to cover the bills and care for my kids.

Anyway, I'm looking for another job and even willing to take a pay cut! If I am offered another job somewhere else, I honestly don't think I could give my current employer the standard 2 week notice. What's the consequences of not giving your employer a 2 week notice? Do potential employers ask that in interviews? When doing job reference background checks, do they check to see if a 2 week notice was given? Can someone let me know the scoop? Thanx!

Peaches
05-04-2004, 12:34 AM
I don't think that anyone's going to check to see if you gave a two week notice or not, but you may want to reconsider before just leaving. The economy is pretty bad right now and I wouldn't leave another job unless I had another one to go to.

I understand your delimma. I am miserable at work and am starting to feel physically sick when I walk into the building.

Put in for some vacation time and you'll feel a little better. In the mean time, just start cranking out resumes.. at least 2 per day.

Laquita
05-04-2004, 01:00 AM
I feel you kopper :app

:mad I think you have read my mine....I don't have any kids but I did just put a contract on a house (and had the hardest time getting approved because of my income) and I need every dime I manage to scrape up...

So eventhough I'd like to give that 2 day notice I think we'd better follow Peaches' advice and start cranking out those resumes :thumbsup

SavageGurl
05-04-2004, 01:04 AM