PDA

View Full Version : Clarifying Shampoo

Llyons
05-14-2004, 10:59 PM
I'm new to locing and I'm trying to find the right shampoo. I was told by a family member to use a clarifying shampoo. I wash my hair every week with clarifying shampoo. I'm getting the feeling that this maybe a little too much and stripping my hair. My locs feel a little dry and most likely the shampoo is causing this. At first I thought if my hair was dried out it would help the locing process.
There's a lot of information out there on taking care of locs. A lot of info. is conflicting. Of course, everyone hair is different and we all have our own hair routines. This maybe the reason for the conflicting information. I'm still trying to learn what works best for me.

In general, I would like to know how often do you use a clarifying shampoo? I'm 4 months into my locing process. Is it okay for me to use a shampoo w/ conditioner or a moisturizing shampoo?

I'm off to Vegas for the weekend. I'm looking forward to seeing all of your responses upon my return. I will need to wash all of the smoke from my hair. :)

Thank you guys for your input!

toy
05-14-2004, 11:16 PM
i use clarifying shampoo very infrequently--maybe every three months or so (if that often). although there are many shampoos you can choose from, my absolute favorite is link to Olive Oil Shampoo (http://caycecures.com/2004/page3.htm#oosh). i've been using it for about 1 1/2 years now (although i do occasionally switch up). it cleans well without drying out my hair, is very moisturizing, and doesn't produce any buildup. you can purchase it at health food stores as well.

Schiffon
05-14-2004, 11:31 PM
I was told that a clarifying shampoo should be followed my a moisturizing shampoo and that tip appears to be sensible.