PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed !

east_african_princess
04-16-2010, 03:40 AM
Hey, i'm east-african-princess, and I'm new to nappturality, and quite newly natural.

I did my BC almost 8 months ago, because my hair was ridiculously thin, and was almost balding at the crown of my head, due to chemical and heat damage, and a whole lot of neglect/ignorance.
my hairs thicker now, and my TWA is now long enough to braid. I've been really busy recently so I've been neglecting my hair again. Now the ends are dry, its breaking and knotting at the ends of the hair strands. So I'd like to know about different protective hair styles.
I generally braid my hair, and use extra virgin olive oil. But I can never leave my braids in for more than three days. Is the benefit of a protective hair style lost, if its done every three days? Are oils (such as, almond oil, jojoba oil, extra virgin olive oil) sufficient to use as main moisturisers? Is it neccesary to "seal in moisture"? If so then what does that mean exactly? And also, are you supposed to moisturise your hair while its in a protective style (because I don't know how that'd work - but it might be the reason my ends are so dry)?
I also haven't trimmed my TWA, purely out of fear. Is 8 months a crazy long time to not trim your hair? I know its normal to lose a certain amount of hair a day, is it the same with breakage? I'm sooooooo tempted to go back to straightening my hair, but I refuse to go back to square one, so I need abit of advice, hopefully from people who have been through this.

All advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks !

soblu2
04-16-2010, 12:24 PM
Hello and welcome to Np

to answer your questions
1- IMO every three day is too short a time to benefit from protective styling... but it depend on what you do to your hair every three day... If you are not over manipulating it you can still see some progress.
2, 3, 4 ( then who made me try to put numbers to your questions? lol)