PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice From Rns

mrstwisty
06-06-2004, 10:30 PM
I just quit my position as a school nurse and I am looking for a new job. I have been a nurse for 3 years with only one of those in the hospital. I keep getting closed doors. So much for the "nursing shortage." I have applied everywhere.

I feel so stupid for walking away from the hospital after only a year I feel crippled to work anywhere else. The school was not for me. Too much parental drama and other issues.

My nurses out there please help me. I need to put things in perspective I need to know which direction to go.

I have been out of clinical practice for 2 years now and can't get my foot in the door.

Sister1
06-07-2004, 02:57 AM
Hey there mrstwisty! Fellow RN here. Take a deep breath. I can relate to your feelings 100 percent. Do you have a BSN in Nursing? If so, have you considered public health nursing? Very challenging. A variety of experiences from maternal/child, Tuberculosis case management; foster care; working with teen mothers. You name it.

It's kind of strange. I have been a PHN for 11 years (RN for 25 years) and feel a little burned out. I met up with a former work mate who is retiring as a school nurse. It sounds very attractive; however, my fear is overall school district budget concerns and the schools covered by 1.5 school nurses is 11 elementary schools. I am very fearful of giving up ll years of seniority where I presently work. I very well may interview for the job if it opens up. Doesn't hurt to do that. You probably felt and were up against a lot of pressure and probably feel you can't get to all that you want to do in a days work. Know that you do the best you can. :heart .