PDA

View Full Version : Starting Locs With Twist

chellefields
08-14-2004, 01:31 PM
[COLOR=orange] I've been locing my double strand twist for about 2 months now, I was using a all-in-one moisturizer by hawaiian silky, but decided to take au natural and switched to a honey, olive oil and water concoction..problems is my sides are growing faster than the rest of my head and the back (especially around my collar line) is extremely dry. :-? It's hard to palmroll after a wash/conditioner (being pregnant limits how long i can stand with my hands over my head working on hair)...any moisture suggestions or idea...i'm lovin my free form look, but don't want the humidity and dryness to break my hair out...HELP :-cre

yummyhoney06
08-14-2004, 09:51 PM
Well, from what I hear humidity is good for locs. The moisture helps our hair to curl up, which helps it loc.
As far as the dryness, how much water do you use in your honey spritz? My hair was a little dry too, but it helped when I added more water to my honey spritz.
Is you hair hitting your collar? If it is, it may help to keep it from rubbing on your collar. Just my .02...

sonshinescoils
08-15-2004, 03:25 AM
i was gonna say just about the same thing. also, you may want to increase the amount of water you drink. when my hair/scalp is dry, i spritz it with water/aloe juice/essential oil mixture. not a lot, just enough to refresh it. then i may follow with a drop of oil to lock in the moisture. i do this mainly because i play in my hair a lot, mostly without thinking, and i don't want my locpaw to encourage breakage. so i spritz. you might try that as well.

LocStar
08-17-2004, 01:14 PM