PDA

View Full Version : Headwraps At Work

alma2254
09-11-2004, 04:25 PM
How do you feel about wearing headwraps to work?

How do others at work feel about you wearing headwraps?

:heart

Khardelya
09-11-2004, 04:34 PM
That is a very good question. Since I am in the transitioning stage, I thought about wearing headwraps. I have seen Muslim women wearing them to work, but I think employers will dare not say anything to them. When I learn how to headwrap I will try wearing them to work. I am a social worker and I am assuming that I will probably not get any negative feedback from anyone.

I think headwraps if done correctly and w/ clean material should be acceptable.

flynppy
09-11-2004, 05:19 PM
I do wear headwraps, but not often to work. When I do wear them and get asked questions, I just explain to them why I wear it whatever. My bosses are pretty understanding so I have no problems. They don't understand because they come from a different generation and that is how I look at it. :)

meagan22
09-13-2004, 07:51 PM
I chose (E) because I don't have a job. :duck :lol

I think that wearing a headwrap is cool for most jobs. I mean, if someone is a construction worker then I don't think that a headwrap is very practical. But outher than that, :thumbsup .

godchaser7
09-13-2004, 09:17 PM
I had some weird experiences wearing headwraps to work while I was transitioning.

I should explain that my transitioning was really me just being tired of relaxing my hair, but I had no idea what to do with it so I just wrapped it all the time.

Anyway, I worked in TN with a lot of white people and I would get the most IGNORANT comments.

Around the whole 9/11 thing I got a lot of sympathetic "Awww, are you Muslim?" or threatening "You ain't one of 'dem Muslims, is you?"