PDA

View Full Version : Napptural hair stayed straight

abbinigel
12-24-2004, 08:07 PM
Hey you guys- I have a bit of a problem - I have been wering my hair natural for about 2 yrs now and all has been fine until recently. A couple of months ago I went to get my hair blow dried and flat ironed (which I hardly EVER do) In order to get my split ends accurately trimmed- I know they used a lot of heat, but again I don't go that often, so I though evrything was fine. After repeated washings, however, I find that the side front section stays straight and won't go back to my natural hair. What should I do? The rest is fine except for that section on the side. SHould I cut it or just cut all of my hair and start again-Let me know what you guys think I should do- :( I have quite a bit of hair and I have been trying to hide it since this has happened,but forget was and goes or even afros. I wear it in a bun. I still need to straighten it from time to time (every 3 months to remove split ends, but I won't use the same hairdresser) :(

Napptural Gurl in Distress :afro:

Abbinigel :(

Niya
12-24-2004, 09:04 PM
a few posts down:
same story, different post (http://www.nappturality.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=41576)

I still need to straighten it from time to time (every 3 months to remove split ends, but I won't use the same hairdresser)
:icon_headshake: it wasn't just the hair dresser, it was the heat.
you do not need to straighten your hair to trim it. IMHO, you'd have less split ends if you stopped damaging it with heat. (no offense)
Me personally, i like to snip off the ends of my twists or braids.

eta: i forgot: you can try protein treatments and deep conditioning, to help your hair get back. but if damage is done, the only way to get around it is w/ scissors.

BrownsuggaDIVA
12-24-2004, 09:08 PM
just a side note...you dont need to straighten hair for a trim.

a way to trim is put the hair in several twists/plaits and snip the edges at an angle.