PDA

View Full Version : Needing some encouragement

itaylor
01-26-2005, 12:11 AM
So i have been growing the perm out of my hair for i think about 8 months now and i just got the last of the perm cut out last month.
For the first few months of growing i wore extenstions (done poorly by my mom), since then i have been flat ironing my hair. My natural hair is not very long yet, not long enough to do a lot of the cute styles i've seen on the website.

I had kind of a curly 'fro going that i did with a few rollers and some styling gel and i thought i looked pretty cute and was all set to face the world with the debut of my natural hair....

But then my aunt and grandmother got a look at it and pretty much discouraged me from ever walking out of the house looking like i did. Then i got to thinking about work, and since i work at a medical clinic in a predominantly white suburb, thought that perhaps it wasn't the best thing at a professional setting.

But now i'm stuck. I don't know if i should keep flat ironing it until it grows longer, b/c all the heat is damaging and it might not even grow much longer, not to mention the constant maintenance and the risk of moisture in the hair. Rain is like kryptonite.

In addition i am a young college student and there is a lot of pressure from guys in my school who tend to only want women with the long weaves that are in the rap videos....

Am i doomed to a life of insecurity?

thighslikewhat
01-26-2005, 12:19 AM
As far as styles go........There are plenty of cute styles that you can do with short hair. Go to the Online Photo Album Links forum. My album also has styles I used to do with about 3-4 (I think even less) of hair and I never straighted it then. It's in the First year album.

For the flat ironing....I am pm'ing you

terriela
01-26-2005, 12:55 AM