PDA

View Full Version : Educated black women

itaylor
02-09-2005, 05:15 PM
I am an honors college student at a reputable university, i have been honors classes my whole life, and an AP student high school. I have noticed that i seem to be the only black person in any of these honors classes. I'm not trying to sound conceited, its just my reality. The issue is, i find myself trying to hide being smart when i meet guys because they become very intimidated. In addition, i have yet to meet a brother who can stimulate me intellectually. Even worse, sometimes guys feel like i am threatening them with my intellect and feel like they are in a constant competition with me. Is this an issue for anyone else? How do i combat this?

charli
02-09-2005, 05:28 PM
It's you.

No, really.

Probably because you are still in college, you are looking at your education as though it is the bomb diggity (because you mentioned you are an honors student and that's hardly relevant to finding a man) and probably wear it on your sleeve. therefore, you probably come across differently to people because of that. I mean I find these threads funny when a woman can't find a man, she automatically assume it's because black men are intimidated by her (education, career, salary, material posessions, knowledge). She never thinks maybe, they just don't like her personality, maybe she's a bit stuck on herself, maybe they aren't attracted. They think that their resume entitles them to a great catch.

Well, you're on the same level as every other woman, no special consideration for your honors status in school.

I know people hate to hear that.

No special consideration for your educational status. Because men have different trade offs they are willing to make.