PDA

View Full Version : African- Americans And Education

caraqueen
02-19-2005, 02:05 PM
I was watching Chris Rock's Bring the Pain stand-up routine last night and he made a joke about how black people will congratulate and give props to people who just got of jail ..if you mention you graduated from college..well the reaction is not so enthusiastic. While it was so funny I I have seen this happen. People get out of jail and mention the 5 year bit they did and they get this respect from some folk. Welcome home parties, I've seen some black people behave like they are proud and happy for someone who has served time. I have experienced some hostility from family members for going to school and very little enthusiam or pride when I graduated. :dunno: I wonder what is up with that .. I am still seeing this people who are like hey girl wasn't you my celly at the so--so facility and they are all happy and excited like it was the proudest and best time of their lives. I work in a state job and we have an adult parole authority and I have seen this several times amongst people going to see their probation officers, when somebody mentions somebody is in college or going you can hear crickets singing.
Any thoughts on this?

winnie
02-20-2005, 06:44 AM