PDA

View Full Version : New Here And Need Help! Desperately

jade1975
05-11-2005, 01:34 AM
Hi, I found this website by accident. I have had a perm almost all my life. Born and raised in Nigeria, straight hair made you look"more sophisticated". hair was long and nice until i came to the United States about ten years ago, then my hair started falling out (probably stress related). Ayear ago, i decided to go natural. with the support of my husband, I started wearing microbraids while growing my hair out. I am finally natural and will be taking out my braids at the end of the month and stepping out.

I am very excited but extremely scared. Relived to find out this website exists as I have a dozen questions.

What do I do when I take out the braids? I know i have to go to a stylist who specializes in natural hair (dont know where yet??? )

How do I treat my hair? and my biggest question is
How do I style my hair for work - I am a dentist who works in a predominantly caucasian surburb in atl, i want to look very professional but dont want a perm ever again if i can help it. I need help, please!

mochalocks
05-15-2005, 06:30 PM
Originally posted by jade1975@May 10 2005, 08:34 PM
Hi, I found this website by accident. I have had a perm almost all my life. Born and raised in Nigeria, straight hair made you look"more sophisticated". hair was long and nice until i came to the United States about ten years ago, then my hair started falling out (probably stress related). Ayear ago, i decided to go natural. with the support of my husband, I started wearing microbraids while growing my hair out. I am finally natural and will be taking out my braids at the end of the month and stepping out.

I am very excited but extremely scared. Relived to find out this website exists as I have a dozen questions.

What do I do when I take out the braids? I know i have to go to a stylist who specializes in natural hair (dont know where yet??? )

How do I treat my hair? and my biggest question is