PDA

View Full Version : My Afro In The Work Place

litebrown
10-01-2005, 02:18 PM
I currently work as an Insurance agent. I have only been doing this occupation for about a month. The first 2 weeks i worked with my manager who happens to be white. we went out and made a lot of sales. Now that i'm on my own and selling my sales arent that great. I just chalked it up to inexperience. But my family told me different. They said it was because of my hair and that i dont look professional. Mind you my hair never looks a mess and my style of dress is completely professional

My mother said people dont want to look at or trust someone that looks as i do(she tried to say it in the nicest way possible. My father on the other hand(he has always hated my hair) said you need to straighten that nappy mess and color it back to black :angry: The people i work with has never said anything but positives about my hair. and if they didnt like and didnt think i could be capable of the job they wouldnt have hired me(had 3 interview process wore a wig to one but went natural to the others, parent had me scared on the that occation but thats a different story).

Sure some people might not care for it. but usually you can sense that vibe. i havent sensed it from any prospective client. I just think i need to learn from more from my job and not go fry my hair.

Straight hair doesnt mean you more professional then any other person :angry:

my so called non professional looks (http://public.fotki.com/litebrown/1/)

empress02
10-01-2005, 02:29 PM
Hey girl, try not to let them get you down, my Dad hates my hair too, mind you, I just did the BC and only have about half inch of hair on my head, I am very concerned about how my work place will rect once it starts to grow & I wear an Afro, but we'll see.