PDA

View Full Version : Glycerin and locs

Ladybug
01-15-2004, 04:47 PM
I am curious to know if glycerin based products will slow down the locing process. Even though I have been locing for 4 months and have tremedously reduced my use of products, I still have a bit of the product junkie in me. There is a loc spray called Jamaican Mango and Lime Gro Spray which is basically a lot of good oils, but it moisturizes the hair and makes it really soft because it has glycerin in it.

I know locs arent supposed to be soft like loose hair, but I do like the idea of my locs having a little extra moisture and being soft.

What do you ladies (and guys) think?

Patrina
01-15-2004, 05:54 PM
I think it might cause buildup down the road. Try to use jojoba oil and water if you need moisture. HTH

Peace and Napptural hair grease :rainfro
Patrina

FreshStart
03-08-2004, 07:13 PM
Do any of you mature heads use glycerine on your locs? I've read that it is thick & syrupy so I'd assume you'd dilute it w/water (if it's water soluble...). Do you use it as part of a moisturizing mix? Looking for humectants and considering this one...

I'm having a bit of a loc emergency now. For the past two weeks my hair is refusing to let moisture in & hold it. It's hard & dry & I don't understand why. I've resorted to drenching my hair with water about every other day just to keep it from being crunchy. Now, that's something I never did b/c (1) it wasn't ever necessary and (2)some sections of my hair hug too much and I didn't feel like separating my locs every time they got wet.

This is my routine:

1. Wash w/Dr Bronner's Eucalyptus castille soap
2. spray locs w/chamomile + nettle tea mix
3. apply heavily diluted aloe gel w/lavendar EO to loc sections (just apply to hand and squeeze a group of locs)
4. Dab some oil into palm of hand and squeeze a group of locs
5. separate locs
6. oil neccessary parts of scalp

*hot oil treatment occasionally -> every 3-4 weeks