PDA

View Full Version : Wrap -a-round skirt

nadadayo
01-18-2004, 06:04 PM
Ladies it's Sunday afternoon and snowing hard in NYC. I'm a newbie to sewing but have the desire :) My problem is this.. I've got almost 3yrds of material just sitting here waiting :pop to be used. I'd like to make a wrap around skirt and don't have a pattern.

Appreciate any advice and thanks in advance for you help.

Knottygal
01-19-2004, 01:01 AM
Great question...I'm anxious to see the responses.

I like wrap skirts too and I'm always seeing beautiful fabrics.

I've got a question also...how much material is required to make a skirt?

blkrose
01-21-2004, 06:06 PM
I searched just today for african material and found a site that had "How To" pics on using the fabric for wrap skirts, dresses, head wraps etc. so to answer no you dont need a pattern. i will bet the sit to you in a bit

blkrose
01-21-2004, 06:11 PM
found it

http://www.kangausa.com/

Fauryn78
01-21-2004, 06:45 PM
Are you looking to make a skirt that is more uh "skirtish"? Like you would buy in the store (you know with the sash that you tie) or something that is more "sarong" like?

I have tons of wrap skirts...I love them and Iwould like to make them too...but I don't really sew. Besides I'm all about winging projects and they usually turn out just fine...

I'm also curious as to what other sisters have to say. I'm not sure how confidant you are with your sewing skills, but I say wing it! :thumbsup

W8N2XHL
01-22-2004, 01:20 AM
No, you don't need a real pattern. The other day at work, I took a sheet of paper (pretending it was fabric) and decided how I could make a wrap skirt. I also did the same to make a matching jacket. I will put my templates to test soon.

RealBeautyTT
01-22-2004, 03:41 AM
You can do latch hook patterns-easy and nice.
I love to buy different types of fabric , and make my own wrap skirts, especially for the summer. Mooshood -wear yourself- is nice but too expensive! (A label /design that Jill Scott wears)