PDA

View Full Version : I Want To Learn How To Make A Website

detshorty05
02-16-2007, 03:29 PM
I want to make a website for a group I am in. Currently, we are paying a lot of money for someone to upkeep it for us, so I really want to learn how to create my own flash site. Internet searches haven't been helpful. How did you all learn how to make websites?

NappilyEvahAftah
02-16-2007, 03:48 PM
Hey there! :)

You can start here (http://www.w3schools.com/).

blackviper2007
02-16-2007, 09:47 PM
In addition to the above. Adobe Dreamweaver has templates. Even though I know html, I'm not very good with the design part, :blush: so I edit their templates to suit me.

Also, especially if it's a business site, you don't want flash on your homepage (takes to long to load, low click through rate, etc)

detshorty05
02-17-2007, 12:51 PM
Is adobe dreamweaver expensive? Where can I find it?

blackviper2007
02-17-2007, 01:09 PM
Dreamweaver's $400. They have a 30 day free trial.

http://www.adobe.com/products/dreamweaver/

sunschild57
02-18-2007, 08:15 PM
There are many public domain free web templates out there. You might want to use one of them and then use Nvu to edit and tweak them to fit your needs. Nvu is free!

detshorty05
02-18-2007, 08:35 PM
There are many public domain free web templates out there. You might want to use one of them and then use Nvu to edit and tweak them to fit your needs. Nvu is free!
[/b]
do you have any examples of these? Where can I find NVu? :)

sunschild57
02-18-2007, 10:18 PM
do you have any examples of these? Where can I find NVu? :)
[/b]
For webpage templates try this siteOpen Design Community (http://www.opendesigns.org/). To see what Nvu is about and to download it, go hereNvu (http://www.nvu.com/index.php).