PDA

View Full Version : Job Interview

Byrd17
03-04-2004, 10:19 PM
I have my first job interview with locs tomorrow. I am a little concerned. I have two year old, shoulder lenghth locs. I plan to pull them back, but am still very nervous. When I first started my locs I said that if people didn't hire me it was their loss. Now that I have student loan payments coming up I am worried. I guess I am just looking for a little encouragemnt.

Thanks

Byrd

Oh, the interview is for an HR position in ATL. I live in Nashville now. I am hoping that employers will be more open to my locs there.

splendidlox
03-05-2004, 12:22 AM
:bis

Byrd17, I have been there. I am a HR Manager who went through the exact same thing a few months ago. Search for my post on this board somewhere not long ago. At first I was interviewing with wigs - but ended up leaving that thing on my front seat of my car. I am currently the HR Manager of a major sports apparel company in Memphis. Corporate is obviously not 'southern' based - i.e. they are up north and a bit more receptive than those of us in the south.

In short - DON'T BE SCURRRRRRRED GIRL. If you are - they will sense it. Hold your crown up high and forget about the difference you think they may see in your hair. Instead know that you will land the job because the difference in your abilities when compared to the other applicants.

:rainfro

(box knock em out (box

Beryl
03-05-2004, 01:43 AM
Be confident and you'll be fine. You are beautiful, talented, and the right person for the job YOU want.

exhort
03-05-2004, 02:29 AM