PDA

View Full Version : Growing Pumpkins

demi
09-07-2007, 12:05 PM
This is my first time planting pumpkins and I need some help. I planted one pumpkin plant in June and now it is huge and taking over my garden. I have 4 very large (about 40 lbs each), yellow pumpkins and 2 smaller ones. I planted them to have for Halloween so that my kids can carve Jack-O-Lanterns. I also want to roast pumpkin seeds and maybe make something like pumpkin pie or soup. I have no idea what type of pumpkins these are as I just bought the first plant I found. They are big and yellow but look just like the regular orange ones. My question is what is the best way to do this? Should I cut them all now or maybe just a couple of them? Or wait, let them get bigger and cut them closer to Halloween? How do I store them til Halloween? Inside or outside? When we finally do carve them, how to keep them "fresh"? We usually carve them a week or two before Halloween but they rot and get all nasty before Halloween. Anyone growing pumpkins or have any advice for me? Recipes? Ideas?

Thx

honeybunch2k5
09-07-2007, 11:22 PM
Don't wet the leaves and don't water past 5. This helps to avoid mildew.

Squash bugs may become pests. I accidentally found a way to distract them. I had a bird feeder bell in the back yard (which they loved) and my crops in the front yard. They are attracted to the fruit, and if they go to the bell it's easier to kill them all at once. I use diatom earth.

deecoily
09-17-2007, 01:23 AM
Congrats on your pumpkins!

I always wait until the first frost to harvest the pumpkins. But if it's a late start to winter harvest earlier. The longer you leave them, the bigger they will grow.

I have a separate pumpkin patch because I also found that they would take over. I alternate zucchinis with pumpkins in the same patch.

I never had any trouble with bugs. Matter of fact, the only decent veggie crop I got last year was pumpkins because locusts ate everything else.

demi
09-17-2007, 10:03 AM