PDA

View Full Version : I'm Very Tender Head(ed), And I Dunno What To Do.

Taylorcasey
11-11-2007, 04:25 PM
So, here is my story. I am EXTREMELY tender head(ed). My hair is very thick, about 8 -10 (My mom says) times the average head of hair. My curl is very tight and kinky. Some things I love about my natural hair is the shine, it's thickness, and also how soft it is, and how the ringlets form when I wash it. The problem is this, I have been wearing a chemical fire cream for a couple years now. I am not a fan of relaxers, but I didn't know another route to go. When I first relaxed my hair, it was beautiful. I still had all my curls, they were just looser. Over time, and more relaxing, my hair became straighter and straighter, and began breaking off. Also, it's so hard to find a stylist that really knows what they are doing. My hair being so thick, it takes them a very long time to apply the chemical fire cream to my entire head, and although I always told them I don't want my hair to be straight, they never seemed to understand that concept. So now I have about 2 inches of new growth. I decided that I wanted to go natural again. Problem: I am very tender head(ed). I had braids and then I went to the salon to have them taken down and redone. I was in so much pain that I wanted to cry. I walked out of the salon without her finishing because I was in too much pain. I have been wearing a hat for a month now because I don't know what to do with my hair. Now everyone is telling me that I am too tender head(ed) to go natural and that I need to do a chemical fire cream or a weak chemical fire cream. I am devastated. I don't want relaxed hair, or texturized hair, or vigoroled hair. :-( BUT, I also don't wanna have to cry evertime I have my hair combed. I am at my mom's house right now, I came here to get a weak chemical fire cream, but I am really not wanting to do it. This is why I started looking up stuff about natural hair online and I came across this site. Please give