PDA

View Full Version : What Kinda Jobs Do U Nappy's Have, Did Nappiness Come Before Or After?

Jokae
01-29-2008, 11:09 AM
Convo with a friend (who's a hidden nappy) about my career prospects resulted in her saying many people with nappy hair usually do it when they have become successful or when they decide to do a job which allows them to express themselves i.e be a poet or writer or muscian ect.

Does anyone think being nappy decreases their chances in the work place, or in any other areana in social mobility i.e finding a man, being excepted by family etc? (my daddy loves my hair ^_^ ) Have things been going too well for me maybe because i havn't had a real job yet?

I'm a student in my final year and really would like to know whether i should be worried, because i like to express myself with my hair, am i gonna have to tame it down? :unsure:

What kind of careers and experiences do you sista's have :pop:

-------------------------------------------------------------------
http://members.fotki.com/Asabi22/about/

caramelaggie
01-29-2008, 11:26 AM
When I joined the company that I work for (which is southern and ultra conservative), I was perming my hair. While with the company I decided it was time to natural and one day I came in with my hair all cut off. Sure they were in shock but they got used to it. 2 promotions later I am still with this company and I am just got promoted this month. I have been with this company since 2002.

I really do think that we as a people have more of a problem with our hair then people of other races do. I think that people of other races sometimes don’t understand our hair but I don’t think that they think nappy is bad or unprofessional. I am in marketing and I meet with huge companies and create deals with them all the time. I never feel like my hair is unprofessional. It just is………………†…………………

shaylaporter
01-29-2008, 11:48 AM