Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Never knew going natural was so looked down on. Is it geographical?

I hope this post isn't redundant, but I just wanted to share a few comments and ask a few things that I'm not sure have a place in the other threads.

I am new to Napturality, and transitioning. I have been for about 7 months, but only relaxed once in 2011 prior to August. Being new to this community means a lot to me. It means being able to communicate and share with people who are going through something I am experiencing. This is special to be because I don't have many black friends. I defnitely don't have any that are close friends. The black women I do know on a social level relax their hair. So this is really the only place I have where I can talk to people about my hair and other hair related/black women experiences. Because, honestly, my white, mexican, etc friends just don't GET IT.

But anyway, the point of this thread: Until joining Napturality, I didn't realize that going natural was SUCH a big deal. I've read so many horror stories that people have had with doing a BC or just letting their hair grow out. Negative reactions from family, friends, boyfriends, etc. I've always known that going natural was a difficult decision for many, and sometimes even looked down upon, but I never realized it could get as bad as it has for so many of the women on this board.