Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation How often do you co-wash? Deep condition?

Hi, I'm new to being natural and I'm wondering how often you all co-wash and deep condition? I'm curious if deep conditioning to often is bad? And I think co-washing everyday makes my scalp a lil more itchy.

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I wash, on average, once every 3-4 days. I alternate between co-washing and washing with a sulfate free shampoo.

For co-washing, you need to be careful with the conditioner you choose. Choose the wrong type of conditioner and you will experience a lot of buildup. Your co-wash conditioner should be a low-deposit conditioner (typically the cheap and runny kind). Although I massage my scalp when doing a co-wash, I don't apply the conditioner directly to my scalp.
    "The work of science is to substitute facts for appearances and demonstrations for impressions" - John Rushkin

canidoit is offline Active Nappturality Member
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I used to follow the general rule; DC 1-2x a week, but that's just too time consuming, and I like to wash n go, not wash, n wait. However since I cowash every other day and am constantly spritzing w/ water, my hair doesn't need DC that many times. I might do it once very two weeks. My hair feels and acts the same as when i DC 1-2x a week. I highly believe cowashing daily to every other day gives your hair the moisture it needs.
    Transitioned for 7.5 months. Now I'm FREE!!!!

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)