Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default What To Do Now??

This August will start my last year in college. I'm getting a BA in Psychology. Reading the "College is a scam" thread got me thinking a little harder on what I can do NOW to make myself more marketable upon/before graduation. I currently working in a mental health facility (ie schizophrenia, dissociative identity disorder, etc) but that is not what I want to do long term. I pretty much hate it, as my position does very little. I also work part time as a caseworker for a domestic abuse shelter. This is closer to what I want to do, minus the shelter part. In addition, I'm really interested in child abuse. I currently work 60+ hours a week and that will have to change when school starts, so while I will have a smaller income (very small), I'll have more time to pursue trainings, etc. Should I try a blog, YT page, what?? It would be nice to do something that makes money, since I have a 3 year old and really need it.
    Last edited by *~MzDiva~*; 07-19-2011 at 10:16 PM.
    "Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved."

Twitter me this: http://twitter.com/DivaNTransition

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Define what you want and investigate the people who are currently doing that job. Try contacting some of them and see what they recommend as a next step or a possible path.

I don't see how a blog/YT page will help in obtaining a domestic/child abuse position since those area don't involve media directly. Of course, if it's your goal to position yourself as an expert on those topics or if you plan on writing a book or something, then maybe it would make sense. It can't hurt.