Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Beating Black Kids Revisited...If Ya'll Don't Mind

I don't know how I missed that thread when it was open.

I am a new parent -- son is a year old. I live in a small, southern town, and all I know is to whip kids. I am a teacher, and the kids I see who do not get spanked are the worst kids -- defiant, negative attitudes, curse parents and teachers, just horrible little people. With that said, I have been on the fence about whipping mine long before I had any. My husband believes in not sparing the rod and believes if we don't whip him he will whip us. I am at a lost. I don't want to spank, but I don't want a kid who does not know right from wrong or how to obey authority, me, teachers, or other adults.

I am looking for as much advice on alternative methods to whipping that can be given. I really don't want to spank my child, but that is all I know. What are effective methods?
    Last relaxer: January 22, 2009 ~~ BC'd May 9-10,2009
    I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. ~Confucius

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Go you for looking for alternatives!

Get Off Your Butt Parenting
    - it's really that simple, don't just sit there in your comfy spot on the couch and bark orders at your child...GET OFF YOUR BUTT and work with them. If they are going towards the stove or that cabinet you don't want them in, get off your butt and remove them from it. Don't tell them what they can't do, tell them what they can do and play with.

Arms of Love Family Fellowship - Crystal's entire site is good, this particular page talks about the truth behind the "spare the rod" that you mentioned your husband believes in (which isn't biblical but misconstrued as scripture all.the.time.)