Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Thinking about changing my name on my resume..HELP

First, let me say I haven't posted in Nappturality in FOREVER, but I always think of you ladies and have been meaning to come back.

So when I came up with this dilemma, I could think of no group of people better to ask than all of you! Here's the story:

I've been having issues with finding work ever since I graduated in May. I have so much experience, and I worked really hard over the past few years to build the perfect resume. For example, being president of my chapter of the public relations society, volunteering, networking, etc.

Everyone who has looked at my resume has said "Oh wow, you're amazing," but I'm somehow not getting ANY call backs when I apply to jobs. Between May and now, I've literally received ONE response. The job I have now, I got because my former boss recommended me.

I honestly think my last name is holding me back. I've thought about it over and over and over. I've tweaked my resume, tweaked my cover letter, applied to a broader spectrum of jobs, etc etc. Still nothing. Meanwhile, I've helped people with their shit resumes, people who I thought didn't have enough experience to get hired, get hired before me! And interview for jobs that I've also applied for.

I've done the job of looking at resumes for hire. I know how it goes. I would never discriminated based on a name, but I know how easy it is to do without even realizing (and statistics also confirm this).
    So my only question now is what to do about it? I've considered changing my last name on my CV, but working in PR that also means changing it EVERYWHERE (Twitter, LinkedIn, Insta, etc).

Then there's the question of what I'd change it to. My middle name and mother's maiden name don't work because it is just as foreign. Maybe my dad's first or middle name? I have no idea.