Likes Likes:  0
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have been totally natural for a year and a half, but I am still a newbie. For example, I know that braids, twists, and etc. are protective styles but when do we start wearing them. It is getting chilly down here in Georgia, so does that mean that I need to go ahead and do the protective styles. And on to the next topic, as far as twists, I have a disaster on my hands. I am a senior in high school and my mother wants me to be responsible for doing my own hair so I can take care of myself in college. I understand that because my sister (who just went off to college this year) is totally lost in doing her hair(permie). Anyway I have done twists in my hair and am still practicing braiding. The problem with my twists is that my parting sucks for one. Then there is no way that I can twists the back first so I always start with the front. This leads to disaster. Halfway I switch to the back and the twists end up going every direction. The front goes out towards the front and looks like a bang. Then the back goes everywhere. The problem with the back is that I start twisting towards the side and up when I get to the back. This is because I have short arms and have to twists upwards. This leaves the twists going up and to the sides. My twisting styles only lasts two days at the most, and two is pushing it. My twisting routine goes like this. I wash and maybe condition my hair. Then I let my hair dry out alittle. I make sure to comb through it to make sure it isn't too tangled. I start twisting with Jamican Mango and Lime locking gel. I never know if I am suppose to slather alot on the part of hair or just put a little on the ends? Moving on this should be the last thing. As far as braiding my hair at night. What exactly does that entail? I mean many people say that they put this and that in their hair and braid it every night. I know that as my hair