Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I am 24 right now and have been married for almost a year. My husband and I want to wait another 4 years or so to have our first child but I am pretty sure I want to be a SAHM. My question is what steps should we be taking now so that we will be financially ready to be a one income family when we do have our child?

Being 2 years out of undergrad I am not making a ton of money and my husband works full time and goes to college full time to get his undergraduate. I am currently studying for my GMAT to get my MBA. We have a house we bought a year ago and 2 cars. We have some credit card debt but are planning to pay that off this year and of course we both have student loans although nowhere near what the average person has.

Do you think it will be possible for me to become a SAHM at 29. If it is not too personal (and I am sure it is) :blush: what is the average HH income for a one income family? I just want to get an idea of where we should be.

Thanks

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It's great that you are planning. The income depends on where you live. I left work when I found out I was pregnant. At the time, we were making less than 40K in southeast Alabama. But God had already set things in motion for me to be able to stay at home. My husband was getting a major promotion in the following 4 months, and in the following 6 months, I was getting an inheritence. We were also having our first home built and planning to move to another state in the following 9 months and we purchased a 3rd and bigger car within 7 months.