Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Accounting and Finance...

Anybody in the Accounting and Finance Field here? Let's discuss :-)

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I am! Currently pursuing an Accounting degree after being an executive asst for umpteen years...I always ended up managing the financials of my boss's teams so it was a sensible progression. I'm having a hard time "selling" myself as a finance professional without the degree though. I have an interview tomorrow with the global finance team of one our competitors so hoping that turns out well and they bring me on, I've got 8 years experience and can run circles around those that have degrees but IMO when firms look at my resume and see I'm 2 years out, they throw it in the trash...
    I expect to finish by December 2011 and have my CPA sometime during 2012. I'd like to work for FBI/CIA/DIA as a contractor or direct hire (yup I want a TS too), that's where the $$ is....
    "The soul takes flight to the world that is invisible, but there arriving she is sure of bliss and forever dwells in paradise." - Plato

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hey Savvyone! Yes, that piece of paper seems to have some power! Well, I'm getting my BS in Accounting and will have a total of 3 years experience in the field. Like you, I'd like a job with the FBI/CIA or even the Dept. of Defense. I'd like to become a fraud examiner.

I know eventually I'd have to get my CPA, so I'll be going to graduate school as well. In MD, you have to have 150 to sit for the CPA exam. I'm thinking Fall 2011; I'm going to focus more on becoming a CFE (certified fraud examiner) or a CIA (Certified Internal Auditor)

Anyone else in Accounting? Finance?

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)